Author // Christopher Estallo

Discussed Organisational Strengthening and 16th Congress Legislative Agenda


Members of GLOBE Philippines convened once again after its successful launching and inaugural meeting on November 26, 2013. The meeting was presided by Congresswoman Susan Yap on February 4, 2014, at the Minority Conference Room of the House of Representatives. Organisational strengthening and legislative agenda of the group were the key discussions of the meeting.

Members suggested and agreed to draft specific policy statement for issues in accordance with the principles of GLOBE. They said that there must be position statement on each sector (e.g. energy, forest, mining, etc.) and general guiding principles the group can stand on.

Congressman Christopher Batocabe of Ako Bicol Party-list will lead the drafting of the declaration of basic principles and advocacy statements of the different sectors. Congressman Walden Bello of Akbayan Party-list will help in crafting the statements.

Initially the members identified the following legislative agenda that GLOBE Philippines will pursue at the lower chamber this 16th Congress, namely: Creation of an Oversight Committee on Climate Change at the House of Representatives, National Land Use and Management Act, and Sustainable Forest Management Bill.

On the other hand, GLOBE Philippines Director Chris Estallo asked the members to be strategic in terms of communications. Members agreed to be active on press releases related to GLOBE issues and advocacies. They also agreed to link and promote GLOBE Philippines sub-site (website) and other social media sites in their online platforms.

Present in the meeting were, Rep. Ma. Victoria R. Sy-Alvarado, Bulacan 1st District, Rep. Rodel Batocabe, AKO BICOL Party-list, Rep. Walden Bello, AKBAYAN Party-list, Rep. Lawrence Lemuel Fortun, Agusan del Norte, 1st District, Rep. Agapito Guanlao, BUTIL Party-list, Rep. Ibarra Gutierrez III, AKBAYAN Party-list, Rep. Rene Relampagos, Bohol, 1st District, Rep. Leni Robredo of Camarines Sur, 3rd District, Rep. Isidro Ungab of Davao City, 3rd District, and Rep. Noel Villanueva, Tarlac 3rd District. While the rest of the members were represented by their Chiefs of staff.

About the Author

Christopher Estallo

Christopher Estallo

Director for GLOBE Philippines

Comments (0)

Leave a comment

Please login to leave a comment. Optional login below.