About GLOBE Philippines


The Global Legislators Organisation (GLOBE) in the Philippines was established on November 26, 2013 and was formally accepted as a National Chapter of the GLOBE network on February 28, 2014 during its Annual General Assembly (AGM) in Washington D.C. The group is comprised of 30 parliamentarians representing major political parties and party-list groups of the bicameral parliament.

Congresswoman Susan A. Yap was elected as the first Chair of the group in the lower chamber. Subsequently, on February 5, 2014 during the GLOBE Philippines formation meeting at the upper chamber, Senator Loren B. Legarda was elected as Chair of the upper chamber. Both Senator Legarda and Congresswoman Yap share the Chair of GLOBE Philippines.

At the inaugural meeting of the group, the founding members outlined an initial action plan for GLOBE Philippines. These are as follows:

· Campaigning for the creation of a Climate Change and Disaster Management Committee in the House of Representatives;
· Working to promote regular consultation and dialogue between the executive and legislative branches of government in the country;
· Coordinating action to strengthen Congress's oversight functions Promoting the regular discussion of climate issues among Philippine legislators;
· Advocating for more proactive engagement of President Aquino on climate change issues;
· Promoting the engagement of legislative staff with GLOBE Philippine through secretariat support, capacity building and fellowship.

Members came together to work across party political lines to campaign for better oversight of national responses to disasters and the impacts of climate change. Currently, the group is finalizing its legislative agenda and policy statements.


Executive Officers and Members

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS (December 2013-November 2014)

Chairperson for the Senate: Senator Loren B. Legarda
Chairperson for the House of Representatives: Congresswoman Susan A. Yap of Tarlac, 2nd District
Vice Chairperson for the Senate: Senator Cynthia Villar
Vice Chairperson for the House of Representatives: Congressman Rufus Rodriguez of Cagayan De Oro City, 2nd District

Vice Chairperson for Luzon: Congressmena Agapito Guanlao of BUTIL Party-list
Vice Chairperson for Visayas: Congressman Rene Relampagos of Bohol, 1st District
Vice Chairperson for Mindanao: Congressman Isidro Ungab of Davao City, 3rd District

Treasurer: Congresswoman Leni Robredo of Camarines Sur, 3rd District
Secretary: Congressman Walden Bello of AKBAYAN Party-list
Auditor: Congressman Lawrence Lemuel Fortun of Agusan Del Norte, 1st District

Committee Chairpersons

Capacity Building and Education: Sen. Juan Edgardo Angara
Research and Policy Development: Sen. Benigno Aquino IV
Media and Communications: Sen. Vicente Sotto III
Advocacy Campaigns: Congressman Gary Alejano of MAGDALO Party-list
Partnership and Sustainability: Congressman Douglas Hagedorn of Palawan, 3rd District


Senator Gregorio Honasan
Congresswoman Ma. Lourdes Acosta-Alba of Bukidnon, 1st District
Congresswoman Emmeline Aglipay of DIWA Party-list
Congresswoman Baby Aline Vargas-Alfonso of Cagayan, 2nd District
Congresswoman Victoria R. Sy-Alvarado, Bulacan 1st District
Congresswoman Kaka Bag-ao of Dinagat Islands
Congressman Teddy Baguilat of Ifugao, Lone District
Congressman Rodel Batocabe of AKO BICOL Party-list
Congressman Ibarra Gutierrez III of AKBAYAN Party-list
Congressman Ferdinand Hernandez of South Cotabato, 2nd District
Congressman Eric Olivarez of Paranaque City, 1st District
Congressman Mel Senen Sarmiento of Western Samar, 1st District
Congressman Reynaldo Umali of Oriental Mindoro, 2nd District
Congresswoman Juliette Uy of Misamis Oriental, 2nd District
Congressman Noel Villanueva of Tarlac, 3rd District


Upcoming Events

13 May 2014 GLOBE Philippines, 3rd Chapter Meeting. Further details to be announced.