GLOBE Argentina


The Argentine Chapter of GLOBE International was formed in April 2013, with the support of a local civil society organization, the non-profit Fundación Directorio Legislativo (FDL).

Preparatory meetings were held in the National Congress meetings with the participation of legislators and representatives of the Department of Climate Change of the Ministry of Environment and Sustainable Development. In the preparatory meetings ministry officials reported on Argentina’s strategies in relation to climate change and presented efforts made in other countries in the region to mitigate climate change.

GLOBE-Argentina-PresidentThe inaugural meeting of GLOBE Arentina took place in April 2013. Andrea Fabiana Garcia (Front for Victory - Buenos Aires) was elected as the first president of GLOBE Argentina. Senator Rubén Giustiniani (Socialist Party - Santa Fe) was elected Vice President and Senator Eugenio Artaza Justiano (Radical Civic Union - Corrientes) was made Secretary of the group.

Members of GLOBE Argentina in the lower House include Deputy Mara Brawer (Front for Victory - City of Buenos Aires), Deputy Marcela Alicia Comelli (Neuquino Popular Movement – Neuquén), Deputy Miriam Graciela Gallardo (Front for Victory - Tucumán), Deputy Silvina García Larraburu Marcela (Front for Victory - Río Negro), Claudia Alejandra Giaccone (Front for Victory - Santa Fe), Deputy Mary Virginia Linares (Generation for a National Encounter - Broad Progressive Front - Buenos Aires) and Deputy Argentina Perié Julia (Front for Victory - Misiones).